2016 Malaysian Cub Prix season officially launched


Malaysian Cub Prix underbone racing series officially launches its 2016 season and announces its calendar.


The national underbone racing championship series known as the Malaysian cub Prix marked the official launch of its 2016 season today.

Held in the shopping haven of Metro Point, Kajang earlier this afternoon, the festive launch ceremony sae the presence resent were a number of the series’ riders, team managers and personnel that hailed from all over the state of Selangor.


Also present here were several VIPs including the guest of honour YB Amirudin Shari, the Selangor State Executive Councillor for Youth Development, Sports, Cultural and Entrepreneurship Development.

The 2016 Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix season marks the series’ 23rd season in continuous succession this year, making it the country’s longest running motorsports championship series to date. The 2016 calendar boasts total of 10 rounds that will be held in venues across the peninsula lasting from March until November.

Here’s the 2016 Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix racing calendar in full:

1 MAEPS, Selangor March 12 – March 13
2 Batu Kawan, Penang April 16 – April 17
3 Kangar, Perlis April 30 – May 1
4 Pasir Mas, Kelantan May 20 – May 21
5 Teluk Intan, Perak July 30 – July 31
6 Terengganu Aug 19 – Aug 20
7 Johore Sept 2 – Sept 3
8 Temerloh, Pahang Sept 24 – Sept 25
9 Jempol, Negeri Sembilan Oct 22 – Oct 23
10 Taiping, Perak Nov 19 – Nov 20

Other activities held during the launch event included a meet and greet session for both fans and press members with some the sport’s riders and personalities who were present.


Besides that, organisers also held a special awards presentation for two of the sport’s most renowned individuals who have contributed towards the sport’s growth over the years. First to be awarded was famed race team manager, coach and mentor Pang Yoke You, or better known as Y.Y. Pang amongst the sport’s community.

Also awarded was former national Moto2 racer Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman. Prior to his championship-winning streak in the FIM Asia Road Racing series and his stint in the World Moto2 Championship, Azlan is one of the Malaysian Cub Prix’s most successful alumni having won multiple titles across several categories.


Admission to any of the rounds in the 2016 Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix calendar is free for fans and spectators. More information can be obtained online via the series’ official website, malaysiancubprix.com and through its official Facebook page as well.

2016 Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix season launch @ Metro Point, Kajang


4 Replies to “2016 Malaysian Cub Prix season officially launched”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.